The Cowbell & Handclap

A percussion instrument of no real note and a thin, wispy electronic reproduction of 12 men clapping – but both very popular in the 80s.

They are both definitely back, though. Nightmares On Wax ‘Finer’ remix has a cowbell all the way through the chorus and latter part of the track, it’s the first time I’ve really taken much notice of the cowbell since about 1987. Apparently Queens of The Stoneage use cowbell a lot, I can’t say I have noticed that either. Very popular in latin tunes, yes, but it’s not a staple of a lot of music. Odd that I only really notice now. Wikipedia says it is an idiophone instrument???

Handclaps in the 80s were ubiquitous but now, it seems, mostly only cheesy rock and electro with an old-skool twist. Digitalism’s mix of a Dave Gahan track is a prime example. I’m loving the handclap, they always sound nothing really like a handclap, they are a hackneyed piece of joy from more innocent times.

Leave a comment